First Week NGO Wrap-Up

My first week on placement at the NGO has been interesting.

It’s been a bit of a learning curve as well.

On my first day I was given a presentation overview of the Cambodian Rural Development Team (CRDT). It looked great! CRDT work in the north east area of Cambodia, working primarily to provide clean water, sanitation and education on sustainable farming to impoverished rural Cambodians. Many of the villages they work in do not have electricity or running water. It’s like time has left them behind. CRDT are run entirely on cash from their own fundraising and sponsors, there is no government funding.  From my first week here, I get the impression that money is quite tight.

My first task was to read the latest CRDT report from 2015, this gave me more background. Then, I was asked if I could write a strategy on installing water systems in villages.

This was a bit of a harder task to tackle. They had a draft document already, but when I read it, it did not seem like a strategy at all. In fact, I wasn’t sure what it was meant to be. With a little bit of digging, I discovered that there was already a strategic document in place for CRDT. Hmmm. Asking questions such as “what would you like this document to do for CRDT” produced vague sort of answers and I wound up in circular conversations. I was researching vast amounts of information trying to figure it out, looking at what other similar NGO’s were doing.

By Friday, I had gotten to the point where I realised that CRDT didn’t know what they wanted this document to be. Thankfully, someone else on the team pointed this out rather bluntly, much to my relief. There was a meeting set up to “brainstorm” on Monday. So, this left the remainder of my Friday checking the grammar and flow on a financial policy. Relief. Monday should be interesting.

Cambodia Rural Development Team

Leave a Reply

